## WEST NORTHAMPTONSHIRE SHADOW AUTHORITY

# SHADOW AUTHORITY MEETING

# 2 June 2020

### **Report of the Interim Monitoring Officer**

Report Title	Committee Proportionality and Appointment of Members to Committees

#### 1. Purpose

1.1 This report invites the Shadow Authority to note the members of the Shadow Executive Committee, to receive the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the political groups, to constitute and decide on the allocation of places on committees between the political groups in accordance with the political balance requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and to confirm the appointment of Committee Chairs, Deputy Chairs and members.

#### 2. Recommendations

It is recommended that the Shadow Authority:

- i) Notes the creation of a leader and cabinet executive within the meaning of Part 1A of the Local Government Act 2000(a) (arrangements with respect to local authority governance) ("the shadow executive").
- ii) Notes the members of the Shadow Executive Committee set out at paragraph 3.3.
- iii) Receives the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the political groups as set out at paragraphs 3.4 and 3.5.
- iv) Agrees to constitute and decide on the allocation of places on committees between the political groups in accordance with the political balance requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, as set out at paragraph 3.10.
- v) Agrees that, in accordance with the provisions of Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the appointments to the Standards Committee should not be made on the basis of political balance but should instead be made in such a way that every group on the Shadow Council is represented, as set out in paragraph 3.11.

vi) Confirms the appointment of Committee Chairs, Deputy Chairs and members.

### 3. Issues and Choices

#### 3.1 **Report Background**

- 3.2 The Local Government (Coronavirus) (Structural Changes) (Consequential Amendments) (England) Regulations 2020 enact that the Shadow Authority will create a leader and cabinet executive.
- 3.3 The Regulations stipulate that the Executive will comprise: the Leader of the county council and one other member of the county council, nominated by the Leader; and the Leaders of the West's district and borough councils, and one other member of the districts and boroughs nominated by the Leader of that member's district or borough council. If the council operates executive arrangements, then the member nominated must be from the executive of that council. The full membership of the Executive is:

Councillor Richard Augur Councillor Lizzy Bowen Councillor Rebecca Breese Councillor Adam Brown Councillor Matt Golby Councillor Phil Larratt Councillor Ian McCord Councillor Jonathan Nunn.

- 3.4 Councillor Ian McCord is the Leader of the West Northamptonshire Shadow Authority and Councillor Jonathan Nunn is Deputy Leader. They will also be the Leader and Deputy Leader respectively of the Conservative group.
- 3.5 It remains for the Shadow Authority to receive the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the other political groups. Councillor Danielle Stone will be the Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Wendy Randall will be the Deputy Leader. Councillor Chris Lofts will be the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group and Councillors Sally Beardsworth and Jonathan Harris will share the role of Deputy Leader. Councillor Julie Davenport will be the Spokesperson for the Independent Group. Councillor Caryl Billingham MBE may deputise as required.
- 3.6 In addition, the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and its associated regulations, requires the Shadow Authority at its first meeting, or as soon as practicable afterwards following any changes to its political makeup, to review the representation of political groups and determine the allocation of seats (i.e. proportionality).
- 3.7 The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states that when carrying out calculations to apply political balance to committees, only those elected members who are members of political groups are to be counted. However,

Council can determine whether it wishes to allocate a seat(s) to a member not part of a political group on such committees as Council may determine.

- 3.8 The composition of the political groups is 94 Conservative members, 22 Labour members, 11 Liberal Democrats members and 5 Independent members.
- 3.9 The following principles must be applied in allocating committee places, in order of priority:
  - 3.9.1 That not all seats on any committee are allocated to the same political group;
  - 3.9.2 That the majority of seats on all committees are allocated to the political group that has a majority of the Shadow Authority's membership or as otherwise reflects the make-up of the Shadow Authority;
  - 3.9.3 That subject to 3.9.1. and 3.9.2 above, the number of seats for all main committees which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the main committees as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the Shadow Authority; and
  - 3.9.4 Subject to 3.9.3 the numbers of seats on the individual Committees allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of seats of that Committee as is borne by the number of members of that group to their membership of the Authority.
- 3.10 There are 34 allocated Committee places which must be allocated as follows: 24 Conservative, 6 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Independent member.
- 3.11 Due to the nature of the work of the Standards Committee, it is recommended to Council that, in accordance with the provisions of Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the appointments to that committee should not be made on the basis of political balance but should include representation from every group on the Shadow Authority. This is to be achieved by allocating seats according to the principles of proportionality and then allocating one additional seat to the independent councillors. This provision must be passed by Council without any member voting against it in order to take effect.

Committee	Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrats	Independent	Total
Overview and Scrutiny	12	4	1	1	18
Senior Appointments	6	1	1	0	8
Standards	6	1	1	1	9

The allocation of seats between the Committees is as follows:

3.12 The memberships of Committees, including Chairs and Deputy Chairs, will be circulated prior to the meeting.

## 4. Implications (including financial implications)

## 4.1 Policy

4.1.1 None specifically.

## 4.2 Resources and Risk

4.2.1 None

## 4.3 Legal

4.2.1 The Shadow Authority has obligations under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and its associated regulations to review the representation of political groups and determine the allocations of seats.

## 4.4 Equality and Health

4.4.1 None specifically.

Report Author: Paul Hanson Democratic Services Manager 07912 891994